Pear Refresher

I am not able to eat very spicy food, so while I was eating chicken buffalo wings the other night (and ignoring the fact that I would pay for eating them), my head was, of course, exploding with flames.  In desperate need of a palette cleanser, I reached for the first thing in the fridge. Bosc Pears. Like my experience with Celery and Black Liquorice, I was joyfully surprised and proceeded to have a gay ol’ time eating the rest of my pear ‘n’ wings!  So, even though I had to ice my lips with frozen vegetables for about 10 minutes after I was finished, the pear definitely cut a lot of the heat.

Discovered at Java Joe’s in Pine City, Minnesota,  pineapple is also a grand pair to hot sauce.  If you make a trek up to da Nord, make sure to stop at Java Joe’s and have their weirdly good Buffalo Chicken soup.

UPDATE: Sadly, Java Joe’s closed, so I will post a recipe for some Lighter Fare Boneless Buffalo Wings:

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. chicken breast tenders
  • 4 egg whites
  • 2 Tbsp commercial wing sauce, such as Frank’s
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground red pepper
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • Pineapple Chunks

Preparation:

1. Slice chicken breast tenders in half, vertically, and set aside.

2. In a small dish, whisk together the egg whites and 1 tablespoon of the hot sauce. In a separate dish, mix together the flour, cornmeal, salt, red pepper.

3. Dip the chicken breast tenders in the egg mixture, and then in the flour mixture. Assure that the tenders are evenly coated. Repeat dunking process two more times and set aside.

4. Either bake in oven on oil-coated pan until chicken is firm at 425° or brown in oil in skillet for about 4-5 on each side.

5. Place the chicken on paper towels, and drizzle with the remaining hot sauce and serve with pineapple chunks.

Serves 8

Calories/serving: 100

Savor!

Leave a Reply

